from the archives of life…

Christy and Bob

With tears in my eyes
I realize this is goodbye
You were supposed to be here forever
But now our forever is ending
And you’re leaving

I feel betrayed and abandoned
You told me once
You’d always be here
Was that but a lie

Young and naive
I believed in a fairy tale
Until bitter reality opened my eyes
And I realized this life is frail

Loving you so deeply
I trusted our bond would never break
That you’d be here for our special dance
Watching me cut that first piece of cake

Why do you have to go?

Secure in your arms
You were my shelter
And my protection
I’ve loved you from the first

And many names have I given you
Best friend, confidant, hero
Everything inside me screams
Asking why you’re leaving
And we have to say goodbye

Does it have to end this way
I wanted so much more

I’ll love you forever
And will never forget you
One day we are promised
That this too shall be made right

Dear Daddy, don’t leave me
It’s not right for you to die
But even if we’re parted, know this
Always your little girl I’ll be

Our forever is ending
And you’re leaving
And the tears come freely
As I write this goodbye

~April 14, 2001
(written one month before God called Dad home)